Smart Cabinetry Certifications

KCMA / ANSI logo

Cabinets must meet the guidelines for cabinet industry standards. For example, all cabinets must be fully enclosed with backs, bottoms, sides, and tops on all wall cabinets. In addition to building standards, all cabinets must pass many rigorous tests. Five structural tests must be completed including: shelving, mounting, joint strength, cabinet strength, and impact. The door hinges are tested for durability as well by putting them through several tests which test the hinges strength under extra weight. Four tests are run on each available finish to ensure a high quality product. A high-heat, hot / cold endurance, stain resistance, and water / detergent test are finally run.

KCMA / ESP logo

The Environmental Stewardship Program encourages industry policies and practices that benefit the environment and society. The voluntary certification program provides a tangible way for cabinet manufacturers to demonstrate their commitment to sustainability. ESP goes beyond other environmental programs by taking a holistic approach to certification, holding the industry to higher standards and requiring third party verification for many of its criteria. After meeting the rigorous certification requirements companies are awarded the ESP seal to display on their products. ESP confirms and expands upon the following beliefs found

NTA logo

NTA Inc. maintains a state-of-the-art; industry-leading testing facility to ensure that products meet compliance standards established by regulatory, government and industry organizations. NTA, Inc. is a leader in building component testing and evaluation, and has considerable expertise in accurate and reproducible analysis of the new low-VOC coatings. They specialize in paints and coatings for the building industry. NTA Inc. developed an “Approved Green” certification so that manufacturers can confidently market their low-VOC coatings and sealants to engineers and architects looking for products that can contribute to green building standard points.

© Smart, LLC 2004-2019.